The Diana Jones Award

The Diana Jones Award is an annual award created to publicly acknowledge excellence in gaming. The award was first made for the year 2000, and the first award ceremony was on August 4, 2001.

The Diana Jones Award 2009

The Winner | The Nominees | The Award Ceremony

The Winner

The 2009 Diana Jones Award for Excellence in Gaming has been given to Dominion, a card game by Donald X. Vaccarino, published by Rio Grande Games.

DOMINION by Donald X. Vaccarino

Donald X. Vaccarino's card game of competitive kingdom building, Dominion, infuses the deck-customizing meta-play of collectible card games directly into the game-table experience. It elegantly eliminates the highest hurdle to an otherwise compelling genre, making it convenient and accessible to a broader audience.

In Dominion, a broad variety of strategies bear fruit, and a wide variety of components bring replayability rarely found in a stand-alone title. As with any strong design, its rules are easy but not simple, but Dominion exceeds even other strong games in the subtle brilliance with which it encourages speedy play and engages all players for its entire length.