The Diana Jones Award

The Diana Jones Award is an annual award created to publicly acknowledge excellence in gaming. The award was first made for the year 2000, and the first award ceremony was on August 4, 2001.

The Diana Jones Award 2009

The Winner | The Nominees | The Award Ceremony

The Award Ceremony

The winner was announced at a private ceremony packed with games industry professionals, from designers to publishers and distributors. This was held in Indianapolis at 9 PM Wednesday, August 12, the day before the opening of the Gen Con game convention.

As one of the few publicly known members of the Diana Jones Award committee, Matt Forbeck revealed this year’s winners before the packed house. Donald X. Vaccarino was not in attendance, but Jay Tummelson, owner of Rio Grande Games, made a short acceptance speech on Donald's behalf.

Afterward, the celebration continued into the night.

Many thanks to the sponsors of this year’s ceremony: CCP, Matt Forbeck, Gen Con, Ed Healy, Hidden City Games, Mind Storm Labs, Profantasy, Janice Sellers, Stonehouse Miniatures, Super Genius Games, Paul Tevis, and West End Games.