The Diana Jones Award

The Diana Jones Award is an annual award created to publicly acknowledge excellence in gaming. The award was first made for the year 2000, and the first award ceremony was on August 4, 2001.

Nominations & Deadlines

Altthough the Diana Jones Award Committee accepted nominations from the public in the past, today only Committee members can make nominations to the full Committee. Any sort of item can be nominated, whether it’s a product, a person, a company, an event, a group, a trend or anything else connected with hobby gaming. The only criterion is that the nominee must have first appeared or first risen to prominence in the previous calendar year.

Nominations are collated, considered, and voted on by the Committee, resulting in a shortlist of 3-5 names, which is released to the public in March of each year. After further discussion, consideration and another round of voting, a winner is decided, to be announced in August each year.


Nominations open 1st January
Nominations close 28th February

Shortlist announced Spring.
Winner announced Early August, on the Wednesday preceding Gen Con Indianapolis.