The Diana Jones Award

The Diana Jones Award is an annual award created to publicly acknowledge excellence in gaming. The award was first made for the year 2000, and the first award ceremony was on August 4, 2001.

The Diana Jones Award 2008

The Winner | The Nominees | The Award Ceremony

The Nominees

4th July 2008, London: After much debate the shortlist for the eighth annual Diana Jones Award for Excellence in Gaming, covering the year 2007, has been announced.

The Diana Jones Award is given to whatever the Diana Jones Committee believes has best demonstrated ‘excellence in gaming’ in the previous year. This year the committee has shortlisted six potential winners. In alphabetical order, they are:


by Rich Rogers, Chris Perrin, and Chris Norwood

Canon Puncture ( is a podcast by Rich Rogers, Chris Perrin, and Chris Norwood. Across 27 episodes in 2007 they nailed uncommonly good interviews with game designers from Jared Sorensen to Red 5 Studios to Kevin Siembieda, skillfully working some of the wider history of the hobby and conveying a sense of its true porousness and possibilities. Their “round table” conversations about the industry are tempered with honest concerns, but still express “heart on the sleeve” enthusiasm spanning more than twenty years of engagement with the hobby. And their conversations about actual play, successes as well as failures and frustrations, reveal uncanny insight into the social workings of play.


Child’s Play ( is a charity appeal to gamers, benefiting children’s hospitals in (so far) six nations. It was founded in 2003 by the creators of the Penny Arcade game review comic. Its objective is to give gamers a chance to show the world, by helping children, that they are caring people, not ultra-violent zombies controlled by evil video games. Although the charity accepts cash donations and holds special events to raise money, most donations are made by clicking, through the Child’s Play site, onto a hospital’s wish list. The wish lists include not only handheld videogame devices, but also DVDs, books, and toys of many kinds. The donor selects what he wants to give, and does the rest. Thus, the administrative overhead of Child's Play is a very small percentage of total donations—and those donations were over $1,300,000 last year. The Penny Arcade creators, Jerry “Tycho” Holkins and Mike “Gabe” Krahulik, have very intelligently leveraged their huge audience in the service of Good.


The festival Come Out and Play ( is the primary showcase for the new movement of pervasive games (a.k.a. street games). Held in New York in 2006, Amsterdam in 2007, and back in New York in 2008, it mixes up urban spaces with technology and new media to turn cities into playgrounds, game boards, and giant arcades. Whether the game is PacManhattan (a live-action version of the classic video game using cellphones to track player positions), Journey to the End of Night (which takes a traditional schoolyard game and stretches it out over several hours and miles of a darkened city), or any of a hundred more, anyone who takes part in Come Out and Play will never feel the same about the urban environment again.


by Jason Morningstar
Published by Bully Pulpit Games

Jason Morningstar's roleplaying game of the 1944 Warsaw Uprising, Grey Ranks, commands attention for many reasons—its fidelity to and evocation of historical detail, its unique and harrowing subject matter, its elegant mechanics of play, and its unflinching assessment of war and heroism—but it deserves highest marks for two factors. First, it is a game of inexorable tragedy, sacrifice, coming-of-age, mortality, and self-destruction. These truly mature literary themes are almost unexplored in gaming of any sort, and virtually unseen in roleplaying. If gaming is to approach the other arts in depth and richness, it will be games like Grey Ranks that make such an approach possible. Second, its emotional grid mechanic anchors a solid, powerful rules design that drives such themes home in play. Jason Morningstar has not created a game that lazily appropriates the historical horror at its heart, he has created rules that reveal that horror, rules that re-create that horror in its players’ hearts and minds. Aristotle said that all true tragedy must end in terror and pity. It’s hard to believe that Aristotle never played Grey Ranks.


Open Design began as an experiment in funding the development of roleplaying game supplements. Wolfgang Baur—a highly respected, long-time Dungeons & Dragons editor and designer for TSR and then Wizards of the Coast—went back hundreds of years to dig up the concept of patronage, add a few modern twists to it, and apply it to the problem. He posts a project and publicizes it along with a monetary threshold. When the funding his patrons chip in reaches that threshold, he starts on the project in earnest. Baur supplements his exemplary work by letting his patrons suggest various directions for each project and then allowing them to look over this shoulder as he works. Each project becomes a master-level class on adventure design for those privileged to be a part of it.

SECOND PERSON: Role-Playing and Story in Games and Playable Media

Edited by Pat Harrigan and Noah Wardrip-Fruin
Published by MIT Press

The fact that MIT Press is publishing serious work about roleplaying games and other “playable media” is a signpost for how far games of all sorts have come over the past 40 years. The essays herein tackle everything from Dungeons & Dragons and Choose-Your-Own-Adventure stories to World of Warcraft and The Howard Dean for Iowa Game. The book also contains three full-fledged roleplaying games—Puppetland, Bestial Acts, and The Extraordinary Adventures of Baron Munchausen—making them the first to be published by an academic press. In such a young field as games, it’s essential that we develop a serious discussion about their meaning and how they work, and Second Person delivers that necessary, seminal volume to kickstart such a movement.

More Information

For more information on the award and on how to gain access to the award party on August 13th, please contact the designated public representatives of the Diana Jones Committee:

Matt Forbeck
James Wallis