The Diana Jones Award

The Diana Jones Award is an annual award created to publicly acknowledge excellence in gaming. The award was first made for the year 2000, and the first award ceremony was on August 4, 2001.

The Diana Jones Award 2008

The Winner | The Nominees | The Award Ceremony

The Award Ceremony

The winner was announced at a private ceremony packed with games industry professionals, from designers to publishers and distributors. This was held in Indianapolis at 9 PM Wednesday, August 13, the day before the opening of the Gen Con game convention. By the committee’s estimate, more people attended this year’s event than ever before.

As one of the few publicly known members of the Diana Jones Award committee, Matt Forbeck revealed this year’s winners before the packed house. Both Jason Morningstar and Wolfgang Baur were in attendance, and each made a short acceptance speech to the crowd’s delight.

Afterward, the celebration continued into the night.

Many thanks to the sponsors of this year’s ceremony: Adam Jury and Posthuman Studios, Adept Press, CCP, Matt Forbeck, GAMA, Gen Con, Hidden City Games, Phil Lacefield, Rogue Games, Janice Sellers, Stonehouse Miniatures, and Paul Tevis.